California Real Estate Pre License Courses

Home / Pre License / California

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type

California Pre License Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective
You Need: 360 360 0
We Offer: 135 135 0

California State Requirement Details for Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education

Hours Required by the State: 360 hours

Education: Applicants for a real estate broker license examination must have successfully completed the following eight statutorily required college-level courses:

1. Real Estate Practice; and

2. Legal Aspects of Real Estate; and

3. Real Estate Finance; and

4. Real Estate Appraisal; and

5. Real Estate Economics or Accounting*; and

6. Three courses from the following list:

Real Estate Principles, Business Law, Property Management, Escrow, Real Estate Office Administration, Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending, Advanced Legal Aspects of Real Estate, Advanced Real Estate Finance, Advanced Real Estate Appraisal, Computer Applications in Real Estate, Common Interest Developments

Experience: A minimum of two years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last five years or the equivalent is required. For further information, see Documenting Experience Requirements for the Broker Examination.

Pre-Licensing Final Exams: The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass the final exam.  You have two attempts to pass the final exam. Pursuant to Article 25 – Section 3007.3 (f)(k)(o), you are allotted one minute per question on the final exams. OF NOTE: Students that enrolled prior to 9/25/19 are required to have their final exam proctored. 

Licensing Exam: Registration for the state licensing exam is an entirely separate process from proctoring for your course final exam. For instructions to register for your state licensing exam and further information, please click here.

Course Completions: A student may enroll in any number of courses with the following guidelines:

1. Schools may not offer a single correspondence course that is to be completed* in less than 2½ weeks. This rule applies regardless of the number of schools the student is taking courses from (see example below.)

2. No more than two courses may be completed in a five-week period.

Number of Courses                    Min. Completion Time*

1                                                       2½ weeks

2                                                       5 weeks

3 7.5 weeks

4                                                       10 weeks

6                                                       15 weeks

8                                                       20 weeks

*The time from the date the student receives access to the course material to the date the final exam is successfully passed.

Provider Approval Number: S0607

The CE Shop’s Offering: 135 hours

  • Real Estate Principles (45 hours)
  • Real Estate Practice (45 hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (45 hours)

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report qualifying course completions. Students will submit their certificate of completion with their license application.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7-month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email). The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion, upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us.

General Information Page

California Department of Real Estate

Street Address: 1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815

Telephone: 877.373.4542

Fax: 916.263.8943

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

CE Requirements

License Renewal information

Updating Your License information


Contact California Dept. of Real Estate

The CE Shop Approved Courses (enter "CE Shop" in the Enter Course Provider Name field)

California Privacy Policy